GSUSA Awards

See also Fees and Requirements

›God is Love                                                                                                                              Daisy Girl Scouts in Kindergarten and First Grade will be able to discover an appreciation that God created, cares for, and loves us all. The God is Love program is designed to promote growth in faith by teaching about God’s Love.

Mother Mary
Brownie Girl Scouts explore the Bible, prayer, and Mary’s relationship with her family and God. Scouts see how their own family and their parish family are part of the Family of God.

Family of God
Brownie Girl Scouts discover the presence of God in their daily lives as members of their family and parish. The six chapters help Brownies explore their relationship with their own family and as a part of God’s family.

I Live my Faith
Junior Girl Scouts appreciate more deeply the place that God and religion occupy in their daily lives. Activities focus on developing their awareness as a growing person, friend, family member, and a participant in the community of faith. I Live my Faith blends discovery, prayer, service, and sacrament into a unified whole.

My Faith and Promise
6th, 7th, or 8th grade scouts are led to a closer relationship with Christ and His Blessed Mother. The scout learns the importance of “prayer” and how to communicate with God through prayer. The scout explores the spiritual aspects of their Scout Promise and Law, badges and service projects.


Mary the First Disciple, The Marian
Cadette and Senior Girl Scouts develop an understanding of Mary as a model of openness and spirituality—a woman of the church. Through projects, discussions, and liturgical celebrations, the participants are provided with an opportunity to develop new insights into their personalities, friends, parents, and the world around them.

Ad Altare Dei (For girls registered as BSA Venturers only)
Venturers develop a Christian way of life in the faith community. The program is organized in chapters based on the seven Sacraments. The seven Sacraments are a primary means toward spiritual growth. The most important aspect of the program is that the Scout grows in his spiritual experience of his relationship to God and the church.

Spirit Alive
Senior and Ambassador Girl Scouts discover how the Holy Spirit moves in their lives calling them to greater participation in the church’s ministry. The four chapters explore the Holy Spirit Alive in Scripture, the Catholic Church, in Prayer, in their lives. Scouts practice their understanding through service projects.

Pope Pius XII (For girls registered as BSA Venturers only)
Venturers examine church-related ministries and vocations. The program deals with different life choices, occupations and ministries in the church as calls from God. It includes youth led discussions on current issues facing the church and society.

Archbishop McCarthy (only after completing Spirit Alive or Pope Pius XII)
Scouts research the Social Doctrine of the Catholic Church. They analyze the personal and societal causes of social issues important to them. They put their faith into action completing service projects relating to the social issues examined.